Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Geothermal Energy Systems

The KIT deals with the central issues of geothermal energy as a sustainable base-loadable energy source for the production of heat and electricity and pursues an interdisciplinary approach.


Environmentally sound development of a future technology

Quality assurance and environmentally sound technology development through process understanding and technological innovation are the cornerstones of basic and applied research. Near-surface, hydrothermal and deep geothermal systems are considered at the KIT. Due to its location in the middle of the geothermally favored Upper Rhine Graben, the focus of the topic is on the EGS technology (Enhanced Geothermal Systems) for the use of deep geothermal resources.

International networking and close industrial cooperation

Through the scientific support of regional geothermal projects, the participation in (inter) national projects, the organization of conferences, as well as a close cooperation with partners from industry and research on (inter) national level, the KIT strives to present current and practice-relevant topics along the entire EGS Process chain.

Demonstration project for CO2-neutral heat supply and storage

Demonstration projects are needed in the development of the energy system of the future. That is why we are developing a project for CO2-free heat supply and storage at KIT's North Campus. Geothermal energy is to be combined as a base loadable energy source and heat storage with other renewable energy sources such as concentrating solar power, biomass and photovoltaic.

Long-term research strategy to achieve climate protection goals

The research is structured into four clusters, which have numerous interfaces and are linked by common methodological cross-cutting issues. Large-scale experimental infrastructures such as MoNiKa and the planned underground laboratory GeoLaB as well as demonstration projects are intended to contribute to solving the pressing issues of geothermal research in the long term. The development of a baseloadable technology for the energy supply of our society helps to achieve the climate protection goals of the Federal Government and to make an important contribution within the framework of COP21.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Geothermische Energiesysteme

Das KIT beschäftigt sich mit den zentralen Fragestellungen der Geothermie als nachhaltige grundlastfähige Energiequelle zur Produktion von Wärme und Strom und verfolgt einen interdisziplinärem Ansatz.

Umweltgerechte Entwicklung einer Zukunftstechnologie

Qualitätssicherung und umweltgerechte Technologieentwicklung durch Prozessverständnis und technologische Innovationen bilden die Eckpfeiler der Grundlagen- und Angewandten Forschung. Betrachtet werden am KIT oberflächennahe, hydrothermale und tiefe geothermische Systeme. Nicht zuletzt aufgrund der Lage inmitten des geothermisch begünstigten Oberrheingrabens, liegt der Fokus des Topics jedoch auf der EGS-Technologie (Enhanced Geothermal Systems) zur Nutzung tiefer geothermischer Ressourcen.

Internationale Vernetzung und enge Industriekooperation

Durch die wissenschaftliche Begleitung regionaler Geothermieprojekte, die Beteiligung an (inter)nationalen Projekten, die Organisation von Tagungen, sowie eine enge Kooperation mit Partnern aus Industrie und Forschung auf (inter)nationaler Ebene ist das KIT bestrebt, aktuelle und praxisrelevante Themen entlang der gesamten EGS-Prozesskette zu bearbeiten.

Demonstrationsprojekt für eine CO2-neutralen Wärmeversorgung und -speicherung

Bei der Entwicklung des Energiesystems der Zukunft sind Demonstrationsprojekte notwendig. Deshalb entwickeln wir ein Projekt zur CO2-freien Wärmeversorgung und -speicherung am Nord-Campus des KIT. Dabei soll Geothermie als grundlastfähige Energiequelle und Wärmespeicher mit weiteren erneuerbaren Energieträgern wie konzentrierende Solarthermie, Biomasse und Photovoltaik kombiniert werden.

Langfristige Forschungsstrategie zur Erreichung von Klimaschutzzielen

Die Forschungsarbeiten strukturieren sich in vier Cluster, die zahlreiche Schnittstellen aufweisen und über gemeinsame methodische Querschnittsthemen verbunden sind. Experimentelle Großinfrastrukturen wie MoNiKa und das geplante Untertagelabor GeoLaB sowie Demonstrationsprojekte sollen langfristig zur Lösung der drängenden Fragen der Geothermieforschung beizutragen. Die Entwicklung einer grundlastfähigen Technologie für die Energieversorgung unserer Gesellschaft hilft die Klimaschutzziele der Bundesregierung zu erreichen und im Rahmen von COP21 ein wichtiger Beitrag zu leisten.