Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
Principle investigator:
Britta Nestler
Prof. Dr. Britta Nestler
IAM-CMS

+49-721/608-45310

britta nestler∂kit edu

Homepage @ IAM-CMS

Scientific contact:
Hilgers
Prof. Dr. Christoph Hilgers
AGW

+49-721/608-42139

christoph hilgers ∂ kit edu

Gholamikorzani, Maziar
Dr. Maziar Gholami Korzani,
AGW

+49-721/608-45047

maziar gholamikorzani ∂ kit edu

Prajapati
M.Sc. Nishant Prajapati
IAM-CMS

+49-721/608-45022

nishant prajapati ∂ kit edu

Schneider, Daniel
Dr. Daniel Schneider
IAM-CMS

+49 721 608-47987

daniel schneider ∂ kit edu

Michael Seltzer
Dr. Michael Seltzer
IAM-CMS

+49-721/608-45311

michael selzer ∂ kit edu

Cluster Materials and Geoprocesses

Principle Investigator: Prof. Dr. Britta Nestler

Process simulation plays a crucial role in the efficient, safe and sustainable construction and use of geothermal power plants. It is an indispensable tool for understanding the complex thermal, hydraulic, mechanical and chemical processes (THMC) in fractured crystalline reservoirs.


Research in this cluster aims to investigate the influence of 3-D fracture geometry and surface structure on the flow properties, pressure drop, and heat transfer rate of a multi-phase fluid in multi-physical fluid mechanics simulations, mass transport, and heat transfer.

On the basis of hydrothermal calculations, the material models allow a description of the mineral precipitations and crystallization processes at the fracture surfaces and a prediction of the resulting changes in the opening width and permeability of the fractures.

Circulating fluids in enhanced geothermal systems are not in equilibrium with the in-situ conditions in respect to pressure, temperature and chemical composition. Complex fluid-rock interactions affect reactions of the mineral solution and precipitation and lead to:
   • long-term changes in reservoir hydraulics,
   • the mobilization of reservoir-specific naturally occurring chemotoxic and radiotoxic elements.

As a central part of the topic "geothermal energy systems" the cluster focuses i.a. on the artifact-free geochemical monitoring and analysis of circulating fluids, the thermodynamic and kinetic description of thermal waters including the prediction of mineral precipitation and the mechanical understanding of technical solutions such as the use of inhibitors to prevent scaling.

This approach will improve the sustainability of enhanced geothermal systems and minimize the operating and disposal costs of waste materials.

The material resistance in geothermal power plants is subject to great challenges due to strong chemical and mechanical stress caused by the aggressive thermal water. Material corrosion of metallic building materials is therefore of great importance for the power plant operators. Reasonable choice of materials and engineering corrosion protection can increase power plant availability and minimize operating costs. Therefore, another goal is to minimize corrosion processes in power plant operations.

Publikationen & Proceedings - Peer Reviewed (ISI, Scopus)


2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013

Publications & Proceedings (nicht referenziert bei ISI, Scopus)


2018
2017
2016
2015

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
Cluster-Sprecherin:
Britta Nestler
Prof. Dr. Britta Nestler
IAM-CMS

+49-721/608-45310

britta nestler∂kit edu

Webseite am IAM-CMS

Wissenschaftliche Ansprechpartner:
Hilgers
Prof. Dr. Christoph Hilgers
AGW

+49-721/608-42139

christoph hilgers ∂ kit edu

Gholamikorzani, Maziar
Dr. Maziar Gholami Korzani,
AGW

+49-721/608-45047

maziar gholamikorzani ∂ kit edu

Prajapati
M.Sc. Nishant Prajapati
IAM-CMS

+49-721/608-45022

nishant prajapati ∂ kit edu

Schneider, Daniel
Dr. Daniel Schneider
IAM-CMS

+49 721 608-47987

daniel schneider ∂ kit edu

Michael Seltzer
Dr. Michael Seltzer
IAM-CMS

+49-721/608-45311

michael selzer ∂ kit edu

Cluster Materialien und Geoprozesse

Cluster-Sprecherin: Prof. Dr. Britta Nestler

Prozesssimulation spielt eine entscheidende Rolle für eine effiziente, sichere und nachhaltige Konstruktion und Nutzung von Geothermie-Kraftwerken. Sie ist ein unverzichtbares Werkzeug für das Verständnis der komplexen thermischen, hydraulischen, mechanischen und chemischen Prozesse (THMC) in geklüfteten kristallinen Reservoiren.


Die Forschungsarbeiten in diesem Cluster haben das Ziel, den Einfluss der 3-D Kluftgeometrie und der Oberflächenstruktur auf die Strömungseigenschaften, den Druckverlust und die Wärmeübertragungsrate eines Multiphasenfluids in multiphysikalischen Simulationen der Fluidmechanik sowie des Stofftransports und Wärmeübergangs zu untersuchen.

Die Materialmodelle erlauben auf Basis hydrothermaler Berechnungen eine Beschreibung der Mineralausfällungen und Kristallisationsprozesse an den Kluftoberflächen und eine Vorhersage der dadurch bedingten Veränderungen von Öffnungsweite und Durchlässigkeit der Klüfte.

Zirkulierende Fluide in EGS-Systemen befinden sich nicht im Gleichgewicht mit den in-situ-Bedingungen bezüglich Druck, Temperatur und chemischer Zusammensetzung. Komplexe Fluid-Gesteinswechselwirkungen betreffen Reaktionen der Minerallösung und -fällung und führen zu:

  • langfristigen Veränderungen in der Reservoirhydraulik,

  • der Mobilisierung von reservoirspezifischen natürlich vorkommenden chemotoxischen und radiotoxischen Elementen.

Als zentraler Teil des Topics "Geothermische Energiesysteme" fokussiert sich der Cluster u.a. auf das artefaktfreie geochemische Monitoring und die Analyse der zirkulierenden Fluide, die thermodynamische und kinetische Beschreibung des Thermalwassers einschließlich der Vorhersage von Mineralfällung sowie das mechanische Verständnis technischer Lösungen wie der Anwendung von Inhibitoren, um Scalings zu verhindern.

Mit Hilfe dieses Ansatzes wird die Nachhaltigkeit von EGS-Systemen verbessert und die Betriebskosten sowie Entsorgungskosten von Abfallstoffen werden minimiert.

Die Materialbeständigkeit in Geothermiekraftwerken ist aufgrund starker chemischer und mechanischer Belastung durch das aggressive Thermalwasser großen Herausforderungen unterworfen. Materialkorrosion metallischer Baumaterialien ist deshalb von großer Bedeutung für die Kraftwerksbetreiber. Eine vernünftige Materialwahl und ingenieurstechnischer Korrosionsschutz kann die Kraftwerksverfügbarkeit erhöhen und die Betriebskosten minimieren. Deshalb ist es ein weiteres Ziel des Clusters, Korrosionsprozesse im Kraftwerksbetrieb zu minimieren.

Publikationen & Proceedings - Peer Reviewed (ISI, Scopus)


2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013

Publications & Proceedings (nicht referenziert bei ISI, Scopus)


2018
2017
2016
2015